Oh My, Don't you post alot

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,288 posts
  • Name:Laurie
  • Car:Toyota Mirai
Garage View Garage

Posted 03 June 2017 - 10:55 AM

If you are looking for six cylinder pumps go here. http://www.gmh-toran...n-6-waterpumps/

After discovering that I had two different types of single small inlet water pumps, (spares for the L34) I thought I would have a bit of a dig around to find out what I had. After perusing other forums it seems that a bit has been written on the differences between long and short, but there has been no real study done on the differences between each type of pump within model lines. There are a few different part numbers for early pumps and I am trying to work out which ones belong where. If anyone has any photos of factory pumps they will be greatly appreciated. I'll try and get them in year order starting with the development of the 253. I am no expert however and am relying on other members to fill in the blanks and correct me when I'm wrong.

Pictured here is the original developmental 253 in 1968. You can see the boss in the timing cover for the oil filler pipe and the two small pipes on the water pump are separate. Both of these are inlets.

Attached File  308 waters first 253.jpg   129.19K   28 downloads

Press photo of "new" 253.

Attached File  308 water (2).jpg   308.11K   21 downloads

Pic from OldHolden via arrimar
Attached File  308 early water pump_1.jpg   96.98K   20 downloads